What our customers say

Eva successfully led a high-priority program within my organization. With a very well-structured approach and persistence she managed this multi work-stream program and made sure to deliver the required results on time and in a really good quality. In close collaboration with the site leadership team and the Global Functions she drove the implementation of deliverables in parallel to ongoing operations.

C. Witzig

Projects

Achievements & Results

Project Leadership

Management of a project to re-establish FDA compliance for a production site

Baseline: A manufacturing site had gone through a very difficult FDA inspection, which ended with an extensive 483 report and almost resulted in a warning letter. The site was also placed on an accelerated inspection schedule. The site was slated for closure, but was still producing at capacity. In addition, a large percentage of employees had only temporary contracts.

Approach: As a first step, I set up a structured overall project. Activities that had already been started were integrated into this project. I paid particular attention to good prioritization and realistic sequencing of the various work packages in order to make the best possible use of scarce resources and to mitigate risks for the next inspection while at the same time commercial production continued..

Results: My tight project management resulted in an overall project plan that both made the activities and the critical path transparent to everyone and enabled alignment of these activities with ongoing day-to-day business. I regularly informed the steering committee about progress, milestones achieved, and also about identified conflicts or risks. For these risks, I proposed appropriate mitigation measures and implemented them with the team. The site subsequently passed the next FDA inspection and all previously objected issues were resolved. Subsequently, the project team was recognized for its work within the division.

Process Optimization

Process optimization and reduction of the inventory value of cold chain products

Baseline: One production site, which manufactured products that had to remain within the cold chain, worked with an external cold storage facility for this purpose. This meant that refrigerated products were transported back and forth between the site and the warehouse, especially between the individual stages of the value chain. This resulted in long lead times, higher inventory values and a higher risk for the quality of the products.

Approach: Since the problem was not immediately obvious to everyone, I began to promote the idea that significant savings could be achieved in both lead time and inventory values through improved processes and greater physical proximity. I then launched a project that included a complete value stream mapping exercise, starting with goods receipt and ending with the global distribution of finished goods. The project team included representatives from the production plants involved, quality assurance, as well as global planning functions.

Results: Based on the results of the value stream mapping and the proposed process improvements, the project team was able to compile a very convincing business case for the construction of a new refrigerated warehouse. This refrigerated warehouse was subsequently built and is in operation today. In addition, the project led to an increased understanding of the overall process and improved cooperation between the employees of the different organizational units.

Introduction project portfolio management

Development and implementation of business processes to manage a project portfolio

Baseline: The department head "Strategy and Organizational Development" is new to the role. The organization struggles handling too many projects in parallel and priorities are not well aligned. In addition, key contributors are involved in too many initiatives at the same time.

Approach: I started by developing a new project portfolio management process as well as providing best-practise guidelines for project managers. To support this, we developed appropriate training materials and trained all involved employees in the new processes. Subsequently we made sure, that all projects would be executed based on the new processes and included into the portfolio. This newly created portfolio was then reviewed on a regular basis with the leadership team. Priorities were set based on the site strategy.

Results: The new process strengthened understanding within the organization on how the portfolio is managed and how it contributes to the realization of the strategy. The regular portfolio review led to full transparency and within two years, the number of projects was reduced by one third. Thanks to improved utilization of resources, efficiency in the projects as well as within daily operations was greatly improved.

Interim Management

Management of construction and commissioning of a new pharmaceutical production plant

Baseline: Took over project lead for construction and commissioning of a new API production plant (chemical & biological process steps); project was behind schedule and over budget.

Approach: Complete revision of the project mission & project plan; reorganization of the project team; stringent project management, regular team meetings, coordination and transparent communication with all stakeholders.

Results: Project back on track; production facility completed; full completion of IQ (installation qualification) and 80% completion of OQ (operational qualification); successful handover to production department.

Strategy (production site)

Development of a strategy for a large Pharma production site and alignment with the global manufacturing strategy

Baseline: A large Pharma production site, located in a high-cost country, with a very complex product portfolio and production equipment geared to large prodution orders. Future expecations are for small and flexible order sizes with short lead times. In addition, transfer of production to other countries is being considered.

Approach: Development of a new site strategy by analysing the current situation, identifying opportunities, creating a common vision and fortifying the new strategy via scenario planning. The new strategy comprised a concrete plan for activities within the site as well as the sites unique value proposition to be shared with decision makers.

Results: Today this production site continues to be one of the key sites within the company. New products as well as new technologies are actively transferred into this site.

Global Strategy

Development of a global multi-site strategy for the packaging of pharmaceutical products

Baseline: The global manufacturing network comprised 20 sites for pharmaceutical packaging mostly supplying the local markets. These sites were part of the local country organization and had no direct reporting line into the global network. Overall cost was higher compared to other competitors due to a lack of harmonization and integration as well as redundancies in the network.

Approach: I started by compiling an end to end view of the network encompassing technologies, volumes, different manufacturing steps as well as supply chain. Based on this I developed different strategic scenarios how the network could be structured working together with a team of representatives from the different sites. These scenarios were then evaluated and the preferred scenario was translated into a strategy and long-term execution plan.

Results: This strategy «pack where you produce» developed 20 years ago is still at hand. The number of sites in the network was reduced and today's sites are focused on core competencies (technologies) and efficiently integrated into the global network.

Was unsere Kunden sagen

Eva successfully led a high-priority program within my organization. With a very well-structured approach and persistence she managed this multi work-stream program and made sure to deliver the required results on time and in a really good quality. In close collaboration with the site leadership team and the Global Functions she drove the implementation of deliverables in parallel to ongoing operations.

C. Witzig

Projekte

Erfolge & Ergebnisse

Projektleitung

Leitung eines Projektes zu Wiederherstellung FDA Compliance für einen Produktionsstandort

Ausgangslage: Ein Produktionsstandort hatte eine sehr schwierige FDA-Inspektion hinter sich, welche mit einem umfangreichen 483er Bericht endete und fast zu einem Mahnbescheid (warning letter) führte. Ausserdem wurde der Standort auf einen beschleunigten Inspektionsplan gesetzt. Der Standort war zur Schliessung vorgesehen, produzierte jedoch weiterhin an der Kapazitätsgrenze. Zusätzlich hatte  ein grosser Anteil der Mitarbeiter nur befristete Verträge.

Vorgehensweise: Als ersten Schritt setzte ich ein strukturiertes Gesamtprojekt auf. Bereits gestartete Aktivitäten wurden in dieses Projekt integriert. Ich habe vor allem auf eine gute Priorisierung und realistische Reihenfolgenplanung der verschiedenen Arbeitspakete geachtet, um einerseits die knappen Ressourcen bestmöglich zu nutzen und andererseits die Risiken für die nächste Inspektion zu minimieren.

Ergebnis: Meine straffe Projektleitung führte zu einem Gesamtprojektplan, welcher sowohl die Aktivitäten und den kritischen Pfad für alle transparent machte, als auch eine Abstimmung dieser Aktivitäten auf das laufende Tagesgeschäft ermöglichte. Ich informierte den Lenkungsausschuss regelmässig über den Fortschritt, die erreichten Meilensteine sowie auch über identifizierte Konflikte oder Risiken. Für diese Risiken schlug ich entsprechende Massnahmen vor und setzte diese mit dem Team um. Der Standort hat danach die nächste FDA Inspektion bestanden und alle zuvor beanstandeten Punkte wurden gelöst. In der Folge wurde das Projektteam für die geleistete Arbeit innerhalb der Division ausgezeichnet.

Prozessoptimierung

Prozessoptimierung und Senkung des Lagerwerts von Kühlkettenprodukten

Ausgangslage: Ein Produktionsstandort, welcher Produkte herstellte, die innerhalb der Kühlkette bleiben mussten, arbeitete dafür mit einem externen Kühllager zusammen. Das bedeutete, dass Kühlprodukte zwischen dem Standort und dem Lager hin und her transportiert wurden, insbesondere auch zwischen den einzelnen Wertschöpfungsstufen. Dies führte zu langen Durchlaufzeiten, höheren Inventarwerten und einem höheren Risiko für die Qualität der Produkte.

Vorgehensweise: Da die Problematik nicht für alle direkt ersichtlich war, begann ich dafür zu werben, dass durch verbesserte Prozesse und grössere räumliche Nähe bedeutende Einsparpotentiale sowohl bei der Durchlaufzeit als auch bei den Inventarwerten zu erzielen seien. Ich habe dann ein Projekt gestartet, welches eine komplette Wertstromanalyse beinhaltete, angefangen beim Wareneingang bis hin zur weltweiten Distribution der Fertigprodukte. Im Projektteam waren sowohl die Vertreter der involvierten Produktionsbetriebe, der Qualitätssicherung wie auch der globalen Planungsfunktionen involviert.

Ergebnis: Basierend auf den Ergebnissen der Wertstromanalyse und den vorgeschlagenen Prozessverbesserungen, konnte das Projektteam einen sehr überzeugenden Business Case für den Neubau eines Kühlwarenlagers zusammenstellen. Dieses Kühlwarenlager wurde anschliessend gebaut und ist heute in Betrieb. Zusätzlich führte das Projekt zu einem verstärkten Verständnis des Gesamtprozesses und einer verbesserten Zusammenarbeit der Mitarbeiter der unterschiedlichen Organisationseinheiten.

Einführung Projektportfoliomanagment

Entwicklung und Einführung eines Prozesses zum Management eines Projektportfolios

Ausgangslage: Die Leitung der Abteilung "Strategie und Organisationsentwicklung" ist neu besetzt. Die Organisation kämpft regelmässig mit zu vielen laufenden Projekten und schlecht abgestimmten Prioritäten. Zusätzlich sind wichtige Mitarbeiter in zu vielen Projekten gleichzeitig involviert.

Vorgehensweise: Als erstes habe ich einen neuen Portfolioprozess aufgesetzt sowie best-practise Guidelines zur Führung von Projekten zur Verfügung gestellt. Dafür wurden Schulungsmaterialien entwickelt und alle involvierten Mitarbeiter in den neuen Prozessen geschult. Als nächstes wurde sichergestellt, dass alle Projekte nun basierend auf den neuen Prozessen aufgesetzt und durchgeführt sowie auch ins Portfolio aufgenommen wurden. Dieses neu überarbeitete Projektportfolio konnte nun regelmässig mit dem Führungsteam reviewed werden. Prioritäten wurden basierend auf der Standortstrategie gesetzt.

Ergebnis: Durch den neuen Prozess wurde das Verständnis darüber, wie das Portfolio gesteuert wird und wie dieses zur Umsetzung der Strategie beiträgt, gestärkt. Der regelmässige Review führte zu voller Transparenz und innerhalb von zwei Jahren konnte die Anzahl der Projekte um ein Drittel reduziert werden. Dank verbessertem Ressourceneinsatz wurde auch innerhalb der Projekte und des Tagesgeschäfts eine höhere Effizienz erreicht.

Interimsmanagement

Leitung von Aufbau und Inbetriebnahmen eines neuen Pharma-Produktionbetriebs

Ausgangslage: Übernahme Projektleitung für Bau und Inbetriebnahme einer neuen API-Produktionsanlage (chemische & biologische Prozessschritte); Projekt lag hinter dem Zeitplan und über dem Budget.

Vorgehensweise: komplette Überarbeitung des Projektauftrags & Projektplans; Neuaufstellung des Projektteams; stringente Projektleitung, regelmässige Teammeetings, Koordination und transparente Kommunikation mit allen Anspruchsgruppen.

Ergebnis: Projekt wieder auf Kurs gebracht; Produktionsanlage fertig gebaut; vollständiger Abschluss der IQ (Installationsqualifizierung) und 80%-Abschluss der OQ (Betriebsqualifizierung); erfolgreiche Übergabe an die Produktion.

Standortstrategie

Entwicklung einer Strategie für einen grossen Pharma-Produktionsstandort -  eingebettet in die übergeordnete Manufacturing Strategy

Ausgangslage: Der Standort befindet sich in einem Hochlohnland, das Portfolio ist sehr komplex und die Produktionsanlagen sind auf Grossaufträge ausgerichtet. Die zukünftige Entwicklung geht jedoch in Richtung kleine und flexible Aufträge mit kurzen Lieferzeiten. Es ist immer wieder die Rede von Produktionsverlagerungen ins Ausland.

Vorgehensweise: Ausarbeitung der Strategie über Visionsentwicklung, SWOT-analyse, Porter 5-Forces-Modell sowie Szenarienplanung (inkl. Worst case Szenarien). Es wurde eine Strategie sowie ein konkreter Plan herausgearbeitet, welche Schritte der Standort in Angriff nehmen muss, und wie der Standort bei den Entscheidern zu positionieren ist.

Ergebnis: Der Standort ist heute weiterhin einer der wichtigsten Standorte im Unternehmen. Neue Produkte und neue Technologien werden aktiv an diesen Standort verlagert.

Globale Strategie

Entwicklung einer globalen Strategie für die Verpackung von Medikamenten

Ausgangslage: Das Produktionsnetzwerk bestand aus ca. 20 Standorten weltweit zur Verpackung pharmazeutischer Spezialitäten, meist für lokale Märkte. Aus diesem Grunde waren die Standorte jeweils Teil der Länderorganisation und nicht direkt der globalen Produktionsorganisation zugeordnet. Aufgrund der  grossen Heterogenität der Produkte und mangelnden Integration der Standorte innerhalb des Netzwerks ergaben sich hohe Gesamtkosten.

Vorgehensweise: Zuerst habe ich mir einen Überblick über Technologien, Mengen, Fertigungsstufen und die Supply Chain verschafft. Anschliessend habe ich unter Einbezug von Vertretern der verschiedenen Standorten Strategieszenarien erarbeitet, d.h. Vorschläge, wie das Verpackungsnetzwerk strukturiert werden könnte. Diese Vorschläge wurden evaluiert und anschliessend eine Strategie sowie langfristiger Umsetzungsplan entworfen.

Ergebnis: Die vor fast 20 Jahren entworfene Strategie «pack where you produce» ist immer noch gültig. Die Standorte wurden ausgedünnt und sind heute auf bestimmte Kernkompetenzen (Technologien) spezialisiert sowie besser im Netzwerk integriert.